Teams who won the ICC Cricket World Cup from 1975 to 2023

cricket world cup winners list

Cricket is one of the most popular sports across the world and the stage could not be much bigger than the ICC world cup. ICC conducted existing 12 edition of cricket world cup which started from 1975. West Indies won the first-ever cricket world cup by beating Australia. In this article, we will get all the information about the cricket world cup winners list from its inception.

All Cricket World Cup Winners List From 1975 to 2023

ICC cricket world cup used to be 60 overs match but in 1987 it got reduced to 50 overs. This is the list of all the cricket teams across several countries who have won the ICC men’s cricket World Cup.

Year Host Country Winners Runners-up Result
1975 England West Indies Australia West Indies won by 17 runs
1979 England West Indies England West Indies won by 92 runs
1983 England India West Indies India won by 43 runs
1987 India and Pakistan Australia England Australia won by 7 runs
1992 Australia and New Zealand Pakistan England Pakistan won by 22 runs
1996 Pakistan and India Sri Lanka Australia Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999 England Australia Pakistan Australia won by 8 wickets
2003 South Africa Australia India Australia won by 125 runs
2007 West Indies Australia Sri Lanka Australia won by 53 runs
2011 India and Bangladesh India Sri Lanka India won by 6 wickets
2015 Australia and New Zealand Australia New Zealand Australia won by 7 wickets
2019 England and West Indies England New Zealand England won in the Super over
2023 India TBD TBD TBD

The most successful team in the competition

Australia is the most successful team in this tournament, they have won the trophy five times. India and West Indies both won the trophy two times in their history. It will be a tournament which will surely be one of the most entertaining ones.

India will host the world cup this time. India is known to be a cricket-loving country so that added more fuel to this tournament. India has lifted this trophy two times in their history so it will be interesting to see their performance in this tournament.

The opening match of the World Cup will start on 5th October between England and New Zealand.

Relevant news

Leave a Reply