Orange Cap in IPL List form 2008 to 2023

Orange Cap in IPL List

The orange cap in IPL is the most fancy award in the tournament. The player to get the highest number of runs in a particular IPL season gets the Orange Cap along with some cash prizes.

Since the first edition of IPL, we have witnessed high quality competition among world-class batters to grab the Orange cap. From Veteran Shaun Marsh to young Shubham Gill we have brought you a list of all the Orange cap holders in IPL History.

List of Winners Orange cap in IPL From 2008 to 2023

Year Winner Team Runs Average Highest Score
2023 Shubman Gill GT 890 59.33 129
2022 Jos Buttler RR 863 57.53 116
2021 Ruturaj Gaikwad CSK 635 45.35 101*
2020 KL Rahul KXIP 670 55.83 132*
2019 David Warner SRH 692 69.2 100
2018 Kane Williamson SRH 735 52.5 84
2017 David Warner SRH 641 58.27 126
2016 Virat Kohli RCB 973 81.08 113
2015 David Warner SRH 562 43.23 91
2014 Robin Uthappa KKR 660 44 83
2013 Michael Hussey CSK 733 52.35 95
2012 Chris Gayle RCB 733 61.08 128
2011 Chris Gayle RCB 608 67.55 107
2010 Sachin Tendulkar MI 618 47.53 89
2009 Matthew Hayden CSK 572 52 89
2008 Shaun Marsh KXIP 616 68.44 115

The Orange Cap is one of the most prestigious awards in the Indian Premier League. The batter to score the highest number of runs in a particular season gets the orange cap along with some cash rewards.

Orange cap in IPL 2023: Shubham Gill (GT) 

2022: Jos Buttler (RR) – Jos Buttler won the orange cap in IPL 2022; he scored 863 runs.

2021: Ruturaj Gaikwad (CSK) – He played for the Chennai Super Kings. Ruturaj Gaikwad scored 635 runs and won the Orange Cap.

2020: KL Rahul (KXIP) – The current orange cap holder KL Rahul scored 670 runs in the last edition of IPL played in Abu Dhabi.

2019: David Warner (SRH) – Warner won the orange cap for the third time in 2019, he scored 692 runs.

2018: Kane Williamson (SRH) – Kane scored 735 in the 2018 edition of IPL and won the orange cap.

2017: David Warner (SRH) – Warner again won the orange cap in 2017 by scoring 641 runs.

2016: Virat Kohli (RCB) – The best IPL performance to date. Kohli spread fire with his bat in the 2016 edition of IPL. he scored 973 runs in a single edition of IPL with 4 tons. This is the highest individual score in single league in history of the IPL.

2015: David Warner (SRH) – Warner was the Orange Cap holder in 2015 edition of Indian Premier League, with 562 runs under his name.

2014: Robin Uthappa (KKR) – He scored 660 runs in 2014 and won the orange cap, Uthappa performed impeccable in that season for the knight riders.

2013: Michael Hussey (CSK) – Another orange cap holder from CSK, Mike Hussey was known for his match finishing style. He concluded 733 runs in the 2013 season to win the orange cap.

2012: Chris Gayle (RCB) – Another year another orange cap, Gayle scored 733 runs in the 2012 edition of IPL.

2011: Chris Gayle (RCB) – The Universal Boss was the orange cap holder in the 2011 edition of IPL. He scored 608 in that season.

2010: Sachin Tendulkar (MI) – He scored 618 runs in the IPL 2010, Tendulkar was in great touch in that particular year of IPL.

2009: Matthew Hayden (CSK) – He scored 572 runs in the 2009 edition of IPL, Hayden is also an Australian batter, one of the greatest of his times.

2008: Shaun Marsh (KXIP) – The highest run-scorer in the first IPL season. Shaun Marsh is a veteran Australian cricketer known for his amazing boundary hitting skills. In the 2008 season, he scored 616 runs.

Relevant news

Leave a Reply

Khelosports Banner